Special Education Programs/Directory


Dear SVUSD Families, 

Welcome to the Special Education Department at Scotts Valley Unified School District. We look forward to partnering with you, your child, and our education team to guarantee your student gets the best education support and services needed to be a successful learner. 

Sincerely, 
Amy Churchill, Director of Special Education 

If you suspect your child has a disability, do not hesitate to contact our department or your site administrator. 

Early detection and intervention is important! 

Churchill, A.

Amy Churchill
Director of Special Education
831-438-1820
Ext: 123

SPECIAL EDUCATION

Special Education is a specialized instruction provided for children from birth to age 22 who qualify according to the laws and regulations outlined in the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA 2004).  In accordance with State and Federal law, SVUSD offers a range of Free Appropriate Public Education (FAPE) programs based on student needs.

Please see the current Special Education Local Plan (SELPA)

Katrina

Katrina Schickenberg
Program Specialist
Special Education
Ext: 118

Christina V

Christina Vienola
Administrative Assistant
Student Services
Ext: 102

Special Education Personnel

Director of Special Education                  

Amy Churchill
(831) 438-1820 ext. 123
achurchill@scottsvalleyusd.org

Administrative Assistant

Christina Vienola
(831) 438-1820 ext. 102
cvienola@scottsvalleyusd.org

Program Specialist, Special Education

Katrina Schickenberg
(831) 438-1820 ext. 118
kschickenberg@scottsvalleyusd.org

School Psychologist                   

Michelle Hodsdon
mhodsdon@scottsvalleyusd.org

Occupational Therapist

Stephanie Elliott
selliott@scottsvalleyusd.org

School Psychologist

Juliet Drumm
jdrumm@scottsvalleyusd.org

Adapted Physical Education Teacher

Lewis LaHood
llahood@scottsvalleyusd.org

 

Brook Knoll Special Education Teachers/Providers

Resource Specialist

Lisa Jacobs
ljacobs@scottsvalleyusd.org                  

Special Day Class Teacher

Samantha Nielsen
snielsen@scottsvalleyusd.org

Speech Language Pathologist

Georgia Stein
gstein@scottsvalleyusd.org

 

Vine Hill Special Education Teachers/Providers

Resource Specialist

Laura Walker
lwalker@scottsvalleyusd.org                 

Speech Language Pathologist

Kirsten Maure
kmaure@scottsvalleyusd.org

Middle School Special Education Teachers/Providers

Resource Specialist

Liz Pennington
lpennington@scottsvalleyusd.org

Resource Specialist

Katie Payne
kpayne@scottsvalleyusd.org           

Speech Language Pathologist

Caroline Norton
cnorton@scottsvalleyusd.org

Special Day Class Teacher/Educational Specialist

Bruce Rodriguez
brodriguez@scottsvalleyusd.org

High School Special Education Teachers/Providers

Resource Specialist

Cheryl Ruyle
cruyle@scottsvalleyusd.org

Educational Specialist

Stacey Barros
sbarros@scottsvalleyusd.org

Speech Language Pathologist

Caroline Norton
cnorton@scottsvalleyusd.org

Special Day Class Teacher

Jenny Daniels
jdaniels@scottsvalleyusd.org